“A town caught between Mediaeval times and the Renaissance, with its rows of colonnades and elegant shops,
and with some wonderful monuments and mansions in the historic centre.”
Amongst these buildings is the Gothic Town Hall, the symbol of the city. Then there is the Pozzetto delle Gru (Well of the Cranes), another important emblem for the town. The two birds standing over the well are the work of the local sculptor, Valentino Turchetto. The previous cranes were removed during the Austrian invasion of 1917 and used to make cannons.
The historic centre features many examples of the town crest and the coats of arms of noble families, sculpted on the front of houses, on bridges (of which there are 15 Portogruaro) and on the Town Hall. Portogruaro is interesting to explore both for its charm and its history. It is worth visiting the Mills on the River Lemene, reached by a downhill slope to the right of the Town Hall. The Mills date back to the 12th century, and thanks to restoration work completed in the 1990s, it was possible to re-open here the ‘Ai Molini’ Municipal Gallery of Contemporary Art. On the subject of museums, Portogruaro is also the site of the National Museum of Concordia, which contains exhibits from the old Roman settlement of Iulia Concordia, including coins, statues, and objects from houses and the necropolis, dating from the 1st to 4th centuries A.D.